Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

me-before-you-book-cover

I feel like this is one of my messiest blogs yet. I know that it lacks flow and my thoughts are all over the place. However, despite the word vomit, I feel like it accurately mirrors my emotional timeline while reading. One minute I was laughing at the character’s witty comments, and then the next minute I was balling my eyes out. In that being said, due to my inability to linearly express my thoughts, I have just chunked them in five sub points. I did my best to effectively convey my commitment and vulnerability to this book while reading.

1)  This book was a recommendation and I was committed to discussing my interpretation of the book with my friend. I really need to kick my habit of judging a book by its cover. However, I think some could agree with me that the whimsical flowy font of the blood red cover suggests to a lighthearted rom-com narrative. But to my first point, I happily shut up within the first few chapters of the novel.

2)  The book is based on two English characters, so it was nice to challenge my inner voice to putting on my best Brit accent for an extended period of time. For the first quarter of the book the author has you believing the narrative is headed in one direction and then all of a sudden you aren’t just reflecting on the lessons within the first chunk but are adding a whole other dimension of thought landscapes and character developments. At one point in the novel Jojo throws the reader a COMPLETE curve ball – to the point where I said out loud: Noooo wayyyyy. I started to crave the unexpected shifts in the novels plot. I can say that even though this book wasn’t a mystery, it oddly resembled some characteristics that define the genre of mystery. The feelings of anticipation, secrecy, evolvement, hidden meaning, etc. were all experienced while reading.

3)  This book gave my friend and I so much content to discuss, I still sometimes think back to parts of the book where I am reminded of how important it is to be grateful in life. To always try our best to acknowledge how lucky we are (for whatever it is) even in the hardest of times. The narrative makes you think deeply about the three key pillars of life: love, health, and happiness. Many things we often take for granted at one point in time or another. I think what is most important to remember when reading this book is that: Love will move in the direction that it desires, and will do so in any fashion.

4)  After closing the last page (late for work) I forced the book upon my mother. Telling her that she “MUST read it so I can talk to her about it! Start reading NOW!”. I am looking to join a book club and if given the opportunity, I will definitely recommend this book because there is just SO much emotion and conversation evoked that it would be silly to pass up the opportunity to read this novel in a diverse group setting.

5)  If you have read this book and want to share your experience with me, please share! And if you haven’t – read it now and then let me know!

Kimberley

Leave a comment